A History Of Me

It’s not the destination, it’s the journey… right?


Hello again, world. It’s me- Jeanette.

What’s that you say? Shouldn’t I be doing homework or studying or writing my English paper?

Why yes, in fact, I should be doing just about anything else under the sun. But what good would that do you? See, here’s my thing (we’ll pretend I have just one “thing,” for the moment): I am trying to balance a full-time school year with a part-time student job (not hard on its own) PLUS a normal life for a 27-year-old human being (that’s the hard part).

See, if for some reason I were sane, I would have done what normal folks do. I would graduate high school, ace my ACT, go to college, change my major maybe once, graduate on time, get a decent job, get married, have kids.

Instead, my life went like this: graduate high school, roll out of bed 30 minutes before my ACT and get a decent score, go to Mexico for the heck of it, go to college, lose 10 pounds because I fancied myself a starving artist of some sort, transfer to a bigger college, change my major, gain 15 pounds due to cafeteria food, run out of money and refuse to get loans because I’m hella stubborn, drop out of college, move to Indiana for the heck of it, participate in my very own love triangle, play video games for a year and make money cleaning houses so I can buy Pepsi and Easy Mac, gain 25 pounds, meet a great guy online (Josh), realize what I really want in life, move back in with my parents, have a crazy topsy-turvy long-distance relationship, find a job, break up, get back together,Β  get promoted, move to my own apartment, live on my own for a year and a half, break up, get back together, visit Louisiana because I can, almost break up, move to Louisiana because I’m crazy, transfer my job, live with 5 other people in a condo near LSU, get a raise, move to a tiny one-bedroom apartment with Josh, go back to school while working full-time, adopt a cat, quit my job, get another job on the spot two days later, struggle through 6 months with barely any income while Josh was job hunting, start volunteering, adopt another cat, move to a bigger apartment, get engaged, plan a wedding, have two anxiety attacks, get “upsized” out of my job (it became a full-time position), get married, take a painting class for the heck of it, decide it’s time to get school out of the way and register for a full course load, spend a summer doing nothing, start a student job where I basically do homework all day, and watch my life flash before my eyes when I lay down to sleep each night wondering where my day went.

THAT is why I don’t live a normal 27-year-old’s life. See how a person’s choices affect their situation? I really wouldn’t change any of it. I did the best I could and I had some great (and sometimes not great but still valuable) experiences. It all makes me who I am. But I feel stuck somewhere between 19 and 30 (which technically I am, so there you go) and there are days and moments when I just don’t know what to do with myself. Sure, I’m mentally and physically as ready as a person can be to have kids. So is Josh. We’re all for it. But I’m not done with school yet. Sure, I can pass for an average college junior. But I don’t get carded anymore. Sure, I could spend all my time on schoolwork and make straight A’s. But my priority is my marriage.

I’m in limbo, dudes. And I most definitely put myself here. Nothing left to do but bite the bullet and fulfill my goals… better late than never.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tarra/Sunbird
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 10:50:03

    Jeanette – I feel you. Really, we are living twin lives, only you’re ahead of me on the engaged and married thing. But you can do it! I know you can! And it’s so good to have goals, even when they get a bit lost in the crapload 0f homework and tests. 😦 But you are a strong person with a great sense of humor! So put your feet up tonight, have a glass of wine, and watch some Doctor Who! I know you and I aren’t like BFF or anything, but if you need to vent to a sympathetic ear then there’s always free nighttime minutes or skype or chat!

    You can do it — BECAUSE YOU ARE THE AWESOME!
    ❀

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Sep 24, 2010 @ 10:55:02

      LOL, you’re so right, I AM THE AWESOME!

      One of these days I may take you up on the phone call offer. I really appreciate the support. πŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Tarra/Sunbird
        Sep 24, 2010 @ 11:29:23

        Doooo eeeet. πŸ™‚ You are a lot of fun and an awesomesaurus (related to the brontosaurus, genteel plant eater and lover of tribbles). I would like to hang out more but we can LDR this since we both have extensive experience with that. πŸ˜‰

        Besides, with more and more people restarting their lives at 35 or 40 or later (I have classes with one guy who is newly married and changing his profession at 50) and so you are ahead of the curve on that one!

  2. FFF Team
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 11:01:58

    Hi Jeanette,

    I like your blog and writing style. It is about the journey and also where it takes you. I believe the richness your experiences and what you have learned from your choices will serve you well as you move forward. It is though the trial and error of life that we develop our own personal wisdom.

    I blog about living a more purpose-infused, meaningful and fulfilling life. Your post inspired me to write about how we acquire wisdom. So thank you for that!

    I’d love your reaction to my blog and your readers may find it thought-provoking as well. You can read it at: http://findfulfillflourish.wordpress.com/

    My best,
    Steve

    Reply

    • Jeanette
      Sep 24, 2010 @ 13:27:51

      Thanks so much, Steve! I really like the positive and inspiring tone of your blog. I think I’ll keep reading!

      I agree with you– all those “zigs and zags” as you say really help shape us as individuals. So many of my friends and family members are struggling through those changes in direction right now, and I feel for them. It can be painful. But it can also be exhilarating and lead to amazing, positive outcomes.

      Looking back at my own experiences and relating them to where I am now gives me so much hope for the future. I just hope that some people out there in the great wide internet read this and say “hey… the tough times DO eventually pass. And they’re going to make me stronger.” I hope I make someone feel empowered and like they’re not going through life on their own deserted island. I’m here, too. And I have been through stuff! I’m here, and I’m alive, and I’m happy even when things take a wrong turn and end up out of place. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. Paige
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 12:29:37

    Jeanette you are one of the strongest, most kind, generous, thoughtful, stubborn people I have ever had the pleasure of “meeting”. I know your journey has been interesting and I know it will continue that way – you attract adventure…but I think that’s what has made you the amazballs person you are today!!

    Keep at ‘er, girl. I’m here if you ever need an ear, or a shoulder, or just someone to act silly with πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a comment

RSS APAWS tweets!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.